IQAC | B.P. Chaliha College

IQAC (Internal Quality Assurance Cell)

Welcome to Internal Quality Assurance Cell, B. P. Chaliha College

‘The NEP20 states more inclusive, equitable and holistic education for the HEIs and the pillars are Access, Equity, Quality, Affordability, and Accountability. It also focuses on 21st- century skills such as critical thinking, creativity, and problem-solving.

The vision statement emphasises a quality higher education must enable personal accomplishment and enlightenment, constructive public engagement, and productive contribution to the society. It must prepare students for more meaningful and satisfying lives and work roles and enable economic independence.

This National Education Policy envisions an education system rooted in Indian ethos that contributes directly to transforming India, that is Bharat, sustainably into an equitable and vibrant knowledge society, by providing high-quality education to all, and thereby making India a global knowledge superpower. The vision of the Policy is to instill among the learners a deep-rooted pride in being Indian, not only in thought, but also in spirit, intellect, and deeds, as well as to develop knowledge, skills, values, and dispositions that support responsible commitment to human rights, sustainable development and living, and global well-being, thereby reflecting a truly global citizen.

A good education institution is one in which every student feels welcomed and cared for, where a safe and stimulating learning environment exists, where a wide range of learning experiences are offered, and where good physical infrastructure and appropriate resources conducive to learning are available to all students. Attaining these qualities must be the goal of every educational institution.’

The National Policy on Education (NPE) and the Programme of Action (POA), 1986 inter alia recommended that– ‘Excellence of Institutions of Higher Education is a function of many aspects: Self-evaluation and self-improvement are important. If a mechanism is set up which will encourage self-assessment in institutions and assessment and accreditation by a council................ . The quality process, participation achievement etc. will be constantly monitored and improved.’

In pursuance of the above University Grants Commission (UGC) u/s 12 ccc of the UGC Act, 1956(3) established the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) of 16th September, 1994 at Bangaluru (Bangalore). This concerns among academics for ensuring quality in higher education has been a source of strength and inspiration for NAAC.

Therefore, it is imperative that HEIs must have their own internal mechanism for Sustenance, Assurance and Enhancement of quality culture of education imparted by them.

In pursuance of the above and also notified by the affiliating authority (UGC and University), an Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) of B. P. Chaliha College, Nagarbera has been formed in the year 2002.

There is a core committee of IQAC. For any assessment and subsequent accreditation is made with reference to a set of parameters, so that the standard of an institution can be compared with that of other similar institutions. Under the umbrella of IQAC, the criterionwise sub committees, different committees, clubs and cells are formed for the smooth functioning of the institutional quality assurance and mechanism.

Post Name
Chairman Dr Kamal Ch Pathak, Principal
Coordinator Arun Kr Sarkar
Assistant Coordinators Dr Biman Lahkar
Dr Deepjyoti Borgohain
Members Abdul Jubbar
Angshuman Saikia
Basanta Kalita
Dr Aneklal Barman
Dr Binay Kr Medhi
Dr Jalilur Rahman Sheikh
Dr Manash Jyoti Deka
Dr Rubi Baishya
Dr Sibani Majumdar
Mr Kulen Talukdar
Mr Satyajit Kalita
Mr Utpal Medhi
Ms. Sagarika Kalita
Raghu Dev Das
SDC, Nagarbera
SDMO, Nagarbera
Sukumar Dewan
Upen Kr Saha